The 6th International Symposium on Rules: Research Based and Industry Focused Share this on Twitter

Montpellier, France, August 27-29, 2012

RuleML 2012 Doctoral Consortium

The RuleML 2012 Doctoral Consortium is an initiative of the International Symposium on Rules, RuleML, to attract and promote Ph.D. research in the area of Rules and Markup Languages. The doctoral symposium offers to students a close contact with leading experts on the field, as well as the opportunity to present and discuss their ideas in a dynamic and friendly setting. The accepted thesis descriptions will be presented to an interested audience and subject to discussion with a panel of senior researchers, and we expect submissions on any (but not limited to) of this year's RuleML2012@ECAI topics.

Students are invited to submit an original description of their work addressing the following aspects:

  • A clear formulation of the research question.
  • An identification of the significant problems in the field of research.
  • An outline of the current knowledge of the problem domain, as well as the state of existing solutions.
  • A presentation of any preliminary ideas, the proposed approach and the results achieved so far.
  • A sketch of the applied research methodology.
  • A description of the Ph.D. project's contribution to the problem solution.
  • A discussion of how the suggested solution is different, new, or better as compared to existing approaches to the problem.

The prooceedings is published by CEUR Workshop Proceedings ( Volume 874) of RuleML.

Important Dates

Paper submission: June 27, 2012
Notification of acceptance/rejection: July 16, 2012
Camera-ready copy due: July 30, 2012
Doctoral Consortium date: August 27, 2012

Submission guidelines

Thesis descriptions are limited to 8 pages in English using LNCS format and submitted electronically in PDF format jointly with a maximum 5 page CV.

Please submit to:

If you have no EasyChair account, then you should sign up for an account at

RuleML 2012 Doctoral Consortium Chairs

Grzegorz J. Nalepa, AGH University of Science and Technology, Krakow, Poland
Monica Palmirani, CIRSFID-University of Bologna, Italy